Artist Influence: Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Gonzalez-Torres was recommended to me by my studio tutor because there are overlapping themes within our work. Since researching him I have felt quite connected to his work because he is a gay artist and explores ideas surrounding this.

His pieces which particularly resonated with me were “Untitled” (Portrait of Ross in L.A.)1991 and “Untitled” (Perfect Lovers), 1991.

“Untitled” (Portrait of Ross), 1991 inspires me because the meaning of the piece is not apparent at first. The idea of taking something away from the piece is something which I find very interesting because the piece becomes dispersed and taken by different people to different places like my badges. The piece also creates an interesting relationship between the artist and the audience and whether they feel like they can actually take part of it.

273672_4095950

Above: “Untitled” (Portrait of Ross), 1991

Leave a comment